Preconceptions

Do you live in a vacuum?

If not, you are dragging several trailers of baggage around with you. Everything that you’ve seen and heard about every game blends seamlessly together into a huge multicoloured ball of expectations.

These prejudices can have a substantial influence on your gaming experience. Whether you find the graphics attractive, the gameplay compelling or the community amicable is strongly dependant on what you were looking for and what you thought you might find.

It is with this reality in mind that I approach EvE Online for the first time. I am disclosing my preconceptions for a number of reasons:

1) They should prove amusing reading as a diary of what I thought before playing the game

2) They (possibly) say something about the nature of media cloud surrounding the game

3) They (probably) say something about me and my experiences with MMOs to date

Positive

1)      EvE is big. Really big. You just won’t believe how vastly, hugely, mindbogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it’s a long way down the road to the chemist’s, but that’s just peanuts…

2) It’s a sandbox – the game will not tell me what to do or where to go

3) It’s beautiful

4) As a newbie, I can somehow make a contribution

5) There is no leveling game/end game dichotomy

Negative

1) The game systems are complicated

2) The UI is a hindrance

3) Other players will attempt to scam me frequently

4) I can expect to be punished for making mistakes by being blown up and podded. And possibly told to die in a fire, man up, or kill myself.

5) The only quality “narratives” available to me are ones of my own making

I will report back at the end of the 14 days to say what my experiences have been. My hope is that the game offers a good “second game” with enough in it to keep my coming back.

Fingers crossed.

About bernardparsnip

Gamer, Blogger, Poet
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Preconceptions

  1. efithor says:

    Still, the narratives you create in Eve are often far more compelling for you then any game’s story. I remember when Will Wright was announcing Spore, he said that people would always be more interested in the stories that they create inside a game are more interesting that the actual game’s story.

Leave a Reply

